of grey coats and blue skies

in which spring comes to Nuremberg and I rediscover just how much good weather puts me in a good mood. Points in Stanford’s favour (but that’s a matter for another time).

The weather this past week has been unbelievably stunning, which has been much appreciated. When I touched down in Nuremberg early last Sunday morning, I returned from a city in which spring had most definitely begun and returned to one with traces of snow still on the ground. I was not exactly thrilled. But the tide has turned, and it seems we are moving definitively in the direction of spring. So, without further ado, a few views of my pretty city. These were taken as I rambled around a few sights on the way home from work this past Thursday, having finished up my week.

St. George, apparently the patron saint of armor craftsmen, guards a corner of the Pilatushaus, a building constructed in 1489 and once home Nuremberg's premier armor-maker. Observe the pristine sky above.

I continued on towards the fortress.

The round tower dates to 1560, though its keep (not pictured) was built in the 12th century.

And as I spotted this pair, I was filled with a bit of jealousy–is there anything better than sitting outside on an early spring day with a beer and company? Particularly less than a week after there had been snow on the ground.

The Walpurgis Chapel, the final remaining part of a second castle on the hill, dating from the mid-12th century, one of the city's oldest buildings.

Especially exciting to me? The improvement in weather has allowed me to swap my heavier brown coat for my lighter (and prettier) grey plaid coat. Blue skies, sunny weather, and pretty coats combine to make me a generally happy person. Here’s to spring!

Leave a Reply

