On the bookshelf

One nice thing about this spring has been the chance to do a bit of reading. On the shelf the past few weeks (or planned for the immediate future):

I finished a good number of these books these past four weeks–Krugman’s Return of Depression Economics, The History of Love (Nicole Krauss), Watching the English (Kate Fox), and To Have and Have Not (Hemingway).

My thoughts? Krugman’s was informative, enough, I suppose. In addition to leaving me somewhat in doubt of the ability of economists to actually understand anything, except after the fact. I enjoyed Krauss’ book well enough, though less so than my two sisters who both claim it among their favourite books (note: Kraus is the wife of Jonathan Safran Foer). One nice thing about it was I read it just after I got back from NYC, and I actually had mental images of cross sections mentioned, which was very pleasant. And I finished it in a couple days, and book-binging was ever so pleasant. I very much enjoyed Fox’s book on English culture, though it distressed me to realise that I am, in the end, as socially awkward as the English. Reading it, it could have practically been describing me. Fail. And the Hemingway was predictably depressing, though I liked it well enough (certainly not the best Hemingway, but better than The Sun Also Rises). And I read 130 pages of the Nuremberg: Imagined Capital, which was fascinating.

I took the four books I finished back to the library, and replaced them with a smattering of Hemingway (The Green Hills of Africa, Complete Short Stories, The Old Man and the Sea), A Confederacy of Dunces, another Krugman book (The Conscience of a Liberal), and a short book on foreign impressions of Germans (potentially for lesson planning, which is incidentally why I got the pop-anthro book on the English). I think they must think I have a Krugman and Hemingway obsession (esp. since I checked out a Krugman book earlier that I decided against reading). Certainly it would more true with respect to the latter than the former. But whatevs. I am 23, I can read whatever I want.

And now, to sort which books I want to take on holiday!

2 thoughts on “On the bookshelf

  1. The Sun Also Rises seems to be very love or hate–personally, I adore it but plenty of other people detest it. And three cheers for Watching the English. I, too, identified with a lot of what she said, especially when she pointed out how Americans hear another American accent abroad and immediately want to connect, whereas the British avoid that.

  2. well, the Krugman made for interesting vacation reading for me–not my typical choice but interesting and better than some of my other options! thanks for sharing…

Leave a Reply

