5930 Reunited and other KC Adventures

My Girl Scout troop reunites to celebrate the first marriage among us and other assorted reunions. Also featured: a breakfast burrito in a pancake.

Cookies for Stephanie's and David's reception.

Cookies for Stephanie’s and David’s reception.

I arranged my return trip to the States with just enough time to attend a wedding reception for Stephanie, the first member of my Girl Scout troop to get married. Her beautiful ceremony — I saw pictures — took place on Martha’s Vineyard last June, but when I was already in Moscow. Luckily, her Kansas City reception was more possible — all troop members and our mothers prioritized attendance! And thus, after an overnight visit in New York with Alana, whom I’ve now managed to see three times in the past year without a single picture, I turned up in Kansas City, where my mom met me at the airport for a weekend in our old stomping grounds. We enjoyed dinner together, before my mother left me with Rachel and headed to stay with other friends. That night was my free night for meeting up with the old high school gang. We met up at the Bier Station, which sported an excellent selection of beers on tap. I didn’t really take any pictures, though this random assortment magically appeared on my iPod over the course of the evening. Thanks, Andrew!

Desktop8

As the evening wound down, most people headed home, but with a surprising spurt of energy (otherwise known as: the three cups of coffee I drank at dinner to combat jet-lag), a smaller group of us headed down to the Plaza for a late night snack. A perfect close to the evening:

A skyscraper milkshake at Winstead's: a Kansas City classic!

A skyscraper milkshake at Winstead’s: a Kansas City classic!

The other side of the table:

winsteads

Saturday brought even more reunions, the first being perhaps the must unanticipated. As I was waiting for my flight in Amsterdam, I received an email from Kate, my college roommate: she and Neil would be passing through Kansas City on Saturday and they were looking for suggestions. Although I was vaguely aware that they would be passing through the area, never did it occur to me that we would, in fact, be there at the same time. So, we made arrangements to meet for brunch at Succotash. Rachel came along, too, which made for a most pleasant morning.

Kate and Rachel at brunch.

Kate and Rachel at brunch.

Although all the food was excellent (my Wild Mushroom Eggs Benedict was delightful!), Neil’s was perhaps the most unconventional: the hilariously named “Burrito of Love,” which was for most intents and purposes, a standard breakfast burrito. Except this: it came in a PANCAKE. Not only that: it was pretty much the largest pancake I’d ever seen.

Burrito of Love and Wild Mushroom Eggs Benedict at Succotash. Oh yeah, and Neil and me, too.

Burrito of Love and Wild Mushroom Eggs Benedict at Succotash. Oh yeah, and Neil and me, too.

Rachel and I then headed down to the market to enjoy the atmosphere and stop in on her sister, Hannah, and her husband, Grant, who moved to the market area after they were married this past June.

City Market, Kansas City.

City Market, Kansas City.

We headed back mid-afternoon, giving us a little time to relax (or, in Rachel’s case, visit the doctor quickly) before I headed off for Stephanie’s reception. The Girl Scout Reunion was, in a word, fabulous.

Stephanie got married in that blue dress. Two thumbs up for ditching the traditional white. From left to right: Me, Amy, Stephanie, Shelley, and Kerry.

Stephanie got married in that blue dress. Two thumbs up for ditching the traditional white! From left to right: Me, Amy, Stephanie, Shelley, and Kerry.

Although I have seen Stephanie in Chicago a few times in Chicago in the past couple years (and once in DC in 2010, when she was living there), I hadn’t seen the others in a long time. It took a while to get conversation into the swing of things, at least for me. In part, this was because this was the last time all five of us were together:

Bridging to Girl Scouts in 2005. All of us newly established LIFETIME MEMBERS.

Bridging to Girl Scouts in May 2005. All of us newly established LIFETIME MEMBERS. Those shoes: such a poor choice in my part.

The four of us that really finished out together (Shelley moved away in sixth grade, but her mother had been a co-leader of the troop since it was founded) did get together for one reunion for an afternoon in Stephanie’s basement over winter break in 2006-7, complete with all our mothers — in fact, the last time we were in Kansas City.

Above: Stephanie, Amy, Kerry, and me in 2006. Below: Sue/Susie (Amy's mother), my mother, Sue (Stephanie's mother=, and Rhoda (Kerry's mother). Oh how the times have changed!

Above: Stephanie, Amy, Kerry, and me in 2006. Below: Sue/Susie (Amy’s mother), my mother, Sue (Stephanie’s mother=, and Rhoda (Kerry’s mother). Oh how the times have changed!

But, not surprisingly, we quickly found much to discuss and reminisce about. We had many, many good times over the years. We’ve all grown up so much in the years that have passed! Unfortunately, the group picture from the present reception, with both the girls and all our mothers never made it on my camera. And, after things were winding down at the reception but very much in the mood to continue the fun, Troop 5930, for the first time in its existence, went out together. 5930 in da club! Girl Scouts gone wild!

Out in Overland Park!

Out in Overland Park!

“Club” should perhaps be taken with a grain of salt. The place was, admittedly, about the saddest excuse for a “club” I’ve ever seen. But that was actually precisely why we went. More on that another time. But anyway, it was a wonderful conclusion to the celebration. From there, I headed back to Rachel’s. My last full day in Kansas City was spent shadowing Rachel — with stops at Colonial Presbyterian, where she just started a new job, a lovely lunch in Brookside, afternoon coffee, and an evening small group get-together with her friends from church. The perfect close to a lovely weekend — and from there, I picked my mother up the next morning after breakfast and we headed back to the airport and onwards to Columbus for the final days of summer.

One thought on “5930 Reunited and other KC Adventures

Leave a Reply

