Trial Run!

The last rehearsal before the big day.

Our people, getting ready to rehearse.

Our people, mid-rehearsal.

In general, I’d say the last 24 hours before the wedding were… stressful, to say the least. Try as we did to have as many ducks in a line right before things got going, there was a lot to do in the last 24 hours. Really, that entire week. For starters, I only began with the project of making paper flowers after returning from Madison, just twelve days before the wedding. That project, I’m delighted to say, largely worked. Particularly with help from my family, my parents in particular. Luckily, Lydia turned up on Wednesday night before the wedding ready to help with so many details. The biggest task we accomplished was baking cupcakes and making frosting. There were also centerpieces to put together, and set up to do. Loading the car with all the stuff we needed to take from Ann Arbor to Detroit was quite the project. But finally, things were more or less set to go, and we all descended upon the church a mere 45 minutes late. They say it happens all the time.

Various pairings. Clockwise from top left: Maki's parents, Maki and me; my parents; our starosty -- Maki's aunt and my uncle.

Various pairings. Clockwise from top left: Maki’s parents, Maki and me; my parents; our starosty — Maki’s aunt and my uncle.

I handed off my camera to a sibling, so when I got the pictures off my camera (finally!), there was an entire collection of delights. As it turns out, only a couple people really needed to be there, so the rest devoted their time to assorted shenanigans.

Close-up portraits. I have a feeling Ruth was responsible for most of these.

Close-up portraits. I have a feeling Ruth was responsible for most of these.

Daniel also got up to rehearse the reading, and took the opportunity for some crowd-pleasing poses.

Starred Photos9

But probably the biggest delight was the trial run with the church’s fabulous gold crowns. We used green ones for the actual ceremony, but I will say, these were pretty fantastic!

2014-05-09 Rehearsal-056

At any rate, Father Daniel walked us through the whole ceremony and eased tensions with his humor and reassurances. Everything was going to be fine (and indeed, it was!). Threats were made (no rings, no wedding!), the rings were carefully handed off to responsible parties for safe-keeping, and we headed off for our rehearsal dinner at Cuisine, a lovely restaurant in a historic mansion in midtown. Though I took no pictures, it was the perfect setting for introducing our two families and celebrating together ahead of the big day, which was (of course) much better documented.

4 thoughts on “Trial Run!

Leave a Reply

